On Kurds and Kurdistan

A question from Yahoo! Answers:

Who is Kurdish ? why they do not have country?

An introduction into Kurdish history and culture can be found here:


As to why Kurds do not have a country, the answer is simple: the Turkish government chose not to let it happen. Under the Treaty of Sevre (1920), the imperial Turkish government agreed to allow a trilateral Anglo-Franco-Italian commission to develop “a scheme of local autonomy for the predominantly Kurdish areas lying east of the Euphrates, south of the southern boundary of Armenia as it may be hereafter determined, and north of the frontier of Turkey with Syria and Mesopotamia”. However, around the same time, there was a change in the Turkish government. After some political wrangling, Turkey became a republic. General Mustafa Kemal assembled a new army and proceeded to defeat Armenia in the east and Greece in the west. The new Turkey (with Mustafa Kemal as its president) was able to renegotiate the Treaty of Sevre and re-establish itself as a single nation. The Treaty of Kars (1921) and the Treaty of Lausanne (1923) reaffirmed the Turkish sovereignty over almost all of its pre-war territory, except Mosul and Kirkuk (both of which eventually ended up belonging to Iraq).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *